Blessed with rich red soil, the colinial village of Hagley is situated in the middle of some of Australia's best farm land. Hagley is a centre for hazelnuts, with numerous properties in the area dedicated to growing them. It has a population of around 150 people.
Hagley is on the Meander River which, until the founding of Westbury in the early 1820s, was known as The Western River. The town began in 1825 when William Lyttleton was granted 560 acres by the government. He named his land Hagley after his ancestral home in England. The town was gazetted in April 1866.
The village of Hagley has some particularly impressive buildings including Hagley House, Quamby was the home of the first native-born premier of the state, Sir Richard Dry. You can find his grave at St Mary's Church, which was built in the early 1860s. Quamby has become the Quamby Golf and Country Club and boasts an 18-hole golf course. Next to the church is Hagley Farm School and Environment Centre. It was one of the first two area schools in Tasmania, begun in 1931 in a building erected in 1865, east of the town. It was built in 1826 by Captain W.T. Lyttleton.
Where Is it?: Hagley is 30km west of Launceston on the Meander Valley Highway.
Click on or tap an attraction to read the description. Click or tap again to hide the description.
Quamby Estate was the home of the first native-born premier of the state, Sir Richard Dry, and was the Dry family home until Sir Richard s death. It has excellent American Colonial lines. Built between 1828 and 1838, its bricks were hand made by convicts. This 10-bedroom enchanting 150-acre property has been lovingly restored as a luxury lodge with extensive entertaining areas, a restaurant or private dining room if you prefer, sitting rooms, a library and an executive chef to design exquisite menus showcasing Tasmania s gourmet local produce. Its charming Anglo-Indian designed architecture and period antiques and fire combine modern luxuries to offer the complete country getaway. Location: Meander Valley Road, Hagley.
Not far from Quamby Estate, Ivylawn was built and known as the Dower House for Sir Richard Dry s sister by their father. A fine two storey house, it is now believed to have been built about 1842. At this time, the unusual massing and fenestration of the house would have been 40 years ahead of its time. Once a secondary house on the Quamby Estate, the building has an axial approach drive and fine garden which heightens its importance.
This two storey brick and stucco house features rough stucco with smooth work in imitation of ashlar to quoins and surrounds to openings. Windows are grouped in threes (arch head to level two, flathead to level one) with Tartan glazing. The single panel double front doors feature generous half sidelights and arched transom light. Ivylawn is off Bass Highway at 1260 Westwood Road, 2km north-east of Hagley.